When I started writing this blog, the last thing I wanted to do, or could ever imagine doing, was go into a residential rehab program. Given the struggle I’ve had with the booze, however, that attitude has changed. I’ve realized that the greatest value of rehab is that it get’s one out of their drinking environment, get’s them sober, and gives them the information and the opportunity to make a change–should they desire that. Old habits die hard. The time spent in rehab enables one to build new, healthy habits, not involving alcohol.

Unfortunately,  I cannot go to rehab first, because I cannot take that amount of time off work without losing my job. The type of job I have makes that impossible. I would have to quit my job. Second, I can’t afford to go. Quitting my job would put me in a very difficult financial position. I have debts to pay and other financial responsibilities. I wouldn’t qualify for the government sponsored programs unless I was on welfare!

The ONLY way I could go to rehab is if I won the lottery or if someone who can afford it would support me. I’d have to quit my job, have my rent taken care of, and have my bills paid until I get another job after the rehab. Other than family, which I don’t have, I don’t know of anyone who would, or could, help me.

So if it’s going to be (getting and staying sober) it’s up to me!

N.

One thought on “Why I can’t go to rehab…

Email address is NOT required to post a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.