Morning blessings…

junco

This cute little bird is a “Junco”. Common to my area, they summer in the cooler forests inland and winter back here along the coast. I’ve been feeding them off my balcony for a few years now. The last one I saw was back in May sometime, until this morning.

I was sipping on my morning coffee, nursing my usual hangover, and also feeling particularly anxious for some reason. “Probably just the usual morning hangover paranoia,” I thought to myself. Although, that thought didn’t calm me. What can I expect? Nothing really. Absolutely nothing, or so I thought.

And then, with gazed fixed upon the beautiful Sequoia cedar just outside my patio, I uttered a simple, desperate prayer; “Oh God, please help me to not drink today”. Within a second or two of uttering, something flittered onto my patio. Yes, you guessed it, it was the first Junco back for the winter. I gasped. And then gasped again, remembering that the same thing happened a year or two ago, also right after uttering the same prayer. Coincidence? I think not. The afterglow of the moment released my anxiety and my heart was warmed. In spite of my being fundamentally agnostic, God had instantly answered my prayer.

In the A.A. literature, there is a section called, “The Promises”. One of them is, “We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us what we cannot do for ourselves”. For me, this mornings Junco experience was a direct experience of that, also giving me hope for this afternoon when the ol’ witching hour descends and my cravings kick into high gear. Perhaps today God will give me the strength to not take that first beer.

I have hope for today, and that means a LOT. Thank you also to “whenlifeisgood” here on WordPress for so kindly adding to that.

Nelson

13 thoughts on “Morning blessings…

  1. Amen, Friend! Your passage about next-day anxiety and paranoia spoke to me. That is how I was living until I quit drinking.

    Keep the faith and know:
    “Ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds of the air, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish of the seainform you. Which of these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this? In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.” (Job 12:7-10)
    Best regards!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Signs from Spirit | Finding a Sober Miracle

  3. I was on a walk once, mentally going over all the reasons I should quit drinking, and a huge owl flew directly onto a low branch in front of me. Everything got eerily quiet. Though I didn’t have much belief in God at the time, this felt like some kind of contact from the supernatural. As I got close, the owl actually flew from the tree directly onto the road, so that I passed about 20 feet from it. It just stared at me. It was such a spiritual moment there is no way to describe it. Since then, owls have shown up at the weirdest times, especially after desperate prayers. And these signs never quit showing up, year after year. I think it’s reassurance that we’re not alone.💕

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Ah, Craig! Thank you for your kind words. Yes, the wonders of the universe are innumerable. They are constant reminders of the never-ending beautiful delights that make our existence pleasurable. But, back to basics: have a wonderful day. Thank you for reminding us of the little junco. And for sharing your inner feelings. Your prayers are being answered. Agree?☺

    Liked by 2 people

Would love to hear from you!

