Giving up…

What’s wrong with me? After years of practice, I have all the tools, ways and means to quit drinking, but I just can’t seem to do it. I could be an alcohol and drug counsellor for crying out loud! I feel like giving up, drinking myself silly, losing everything and getting forced into rehab. Then maybe I’ll get sober. But, I really really really don’t want to go that route.

I’m so discouraged. So discouraged. I guess I’m one of the “Unfortunates” that AA talks about. Lost cause, hopeless case. Story of my LIFE! Oh boy, do I ever have an exciting ride ahead of me!

Nelson

 

11 thoughts on “Giving up…

  1. Read Jason Vale’s book.
    If you notice, my ‘giving up’blog started 3 years ago, then I disappeared into drinking for two years and came back, then disappeared again for another 6 months. This time I only have 2 months under my belt of sobriety but it’s huge for me.
    Jason Vale’s book helped.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know so much about alcoholism that I pictured myself on speaking tours and writing books, all while drinking. Who speaks in public without drinking?
    No attempt to stop drinking matter except this one … today. I still struggle to wrap my head around that concept, but it’s true. The past doesn’t matter except what you learned from it. Only today matters. You are worth saving.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you know what’s stopping you from making the jump? Is it the fear of ‘never drinking again ‘ ? Because you don’t have to decide that, you only have to decide not to drink today … . I agree with finding some more support – someone to be accountable to… You CAN do this … Lily 🌷

    Liked by 2 people

  4. There is not anything wrong with you. You aren’t broken, I think you need more tools. Only you can decide when you are done. It sucks. I want someone else to do it for me too but they can’t. Rehab is not a horrible place. If that’s what you need- do it. I’ve never heard anyone say- I wish I would have dug my bottom deeper.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Three days sober here. And it’s not that I’m an alcoholic….or am I? I guess I don’t have to be shitfaced everyday to be one. The fact that I HAVE to have at least one drink (or three) shows me there’s a problem. The struggle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a potential problem, if those 3 turn into 4, 5 + over time. For years I drank very little and found it very comforting. After my divorce, though, everything changed and my drinking got steadily worse…and the rest is history…..

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

