Day’s end…P.S.

Whilst staggering home from the pub, I saw a gal who I haven’t seen in a long time. She used to come in to the pub quite frequently, then disappeared suddenly. Her name is Karen. She told me tonight that…she.stopped.drinking….and that’s why I haven’t seen her. She said it with pride. She added that she has lost 22 pounds since, as well. I could tell. And I told her how great she was looking. She beamed with a smile indescribable.

I told her that I am trying to quit drinking too. She smiled again and said good luck and that I can do it. I gave her a big thank you as she went. She smiled even more brightly.

Karen was in a car accident a few years ago. Has permanent brain damage. She talks and walks like a drunk, but it’s from the accident.

Karen was my sweet angel sent tonight on my staggered path home to my boring beans and weiner’s and toast. God, interrupting my pity-party, telling me that I can do it. If Karen can, then I can too.

Thank you God, thank you Karen, for showing me the way. I WILL!

This is my last post for the day. Sorry to disturb. I’m tired now and need to go to bed. And many thanks to those who read this guy’s crazy, mostly drunken (thus far) journey. Appreciated more than you can imagine. Thank you so much.

Nelson.

One thought on “Day’s end…P.S.

Would love to hear from you!

