Day 2…feeling grateful.

Day 2 of my sobriety.

Coincidentally, I had a hankering to watch the old TV show “Frasier”, to have a laugh, which I needed this afternoon. I haven’t been this sober in a long time. Anyway, I thought it might be neat to see if I could find the very first season of Frasier. I found it on the “Crave” TV station. which specializes in old shows and signed up for a trial month. I then watched the very first Frasier show…

At the beginning of the show, Frasier is on the air describing to his listeners how he recently moved from Boston to Seattle. With some embarrassment, he describes how his life was in a rut there in Boston and that his social life consisted of hanging around a bar (“Cheers”) night after night, and that he was clinging to a life that wasn’t working any more. So he had to do something, anything, to make a change… Bam! What an amazing coincidence, because that is exactly how I have felt and what I have just done with my local “Cheers”. Indeed it is time for a change, and here I am on the second day of my new life away from that.

Indeed, hearing Frasier say that was a marvellous synchronicity (meaningful coincidence). I’ve been looking, hoping for something significant to happen today to help me with my chosen quest. Chosen quest! Ha! The symbolic “Heroes Quest”, as described by the author Joseph Campbell in his marvellous book, The Hero with a Thousand Faces. I am out slaying my “dragon” right now…the booze…and let me tell you it’s taking a lot of courage, but I feel up to it — called in fact, and that’s a good thing, a wonderful and marvellous thing. This is not “willpower”. No, it’s me being courageous. Simply stepping out against all odd’s, with faith, walking on the path ahead. God can’t steer a ship that isn’t moving. We gotta “take the steps” — 1, 2 or 12. Whatever it takes.What’s happened today with this timely Frasier coincidence has reinforced my quest, and given me the gut’s today to stay the course. I feel so grateful.

Last night I had a can of 4.5% cider and one small glass of wine. That’s it. I had terrible insomnia and slept like crap, but kept myself busy today, including going to the gym to help with my energy level. Before going to the gym I was feeling very out of sort’s (aka weird) so I had a very small amount of wine hoping that that would take the edge off, and it did. Tonight, I’m planning no booze, but will have a little more wine if I really feel the need. They say alcohol withdrawal takes between 24 and 48 hours to fully work it’s way out (although can take longer depending on how addicted one has been) but I think by tomorrow morning I’ll be past the worst of it for me. I hope.

I didn’t feel at all like writing today. Thinking even, that perhaps when I’m sober I won’t feel the need or even have the desire to write, but I think it’s more the effect of the alcohol leaving my system — my brain to be exact, that has me feeling a bit down today. From what I have heard and read, this effect is the norm and to be expected. Well, let’s see what happens.

Nelson.

One thought on “Day 2…feeling grateful.

Would love to hear from you!

